KNXCONVERTER

PARLEZ VOUS ASCII?

 Highlights in KNXCONVERTER: Bidirectional ASCII Conversion  –  KNX Project import  –  Data transmission via TCP, UDP & http  –  Object state table

Including
KNX IP Router functionality

The KNXCONVERTER enables the connection of non-KNX systems as easy and fast as never before – without detailed knowledge of the KNX protocol.

PARLEZ-VOUS ASCII?

The KNXCONVERTER converts KNX telegrams into ASCII code and vice versa. With its help you can integrate third-party applications very easily. The device sends the data via TCP, UDP (unicast or multicast) as well as HTTP. Thanks to the uncomplex structure of the KNXCONVERTER protocol (ASCII commands), integration is as simple as possible. A KNX/TP connection and the integrated KNXnet/IP server provide the connection to KNX. The number of data points is unlimited. The values of all group addresses are stored in an address status table, which can be read out by third-party applications. Different KNX worlds with the same group addresses can be distinguished by a system ID. The upload of ETS4 and ETS5 project data simplifies the creation of ASCII commands thanks to the use of identifiers and data types. In addition, the KNXCONVERTER can also be used as a programming interface for the ETS. You configure this device platform-independently via a web interface.

BIDIRECTIONAL TRANSLATION.

The KNXCONVERTER translates KNX telegrams into a simple ASCII protocol (KNXCONVERTER protocol) and vice versa. Easily integrate non-KNX systems without detailed knowledge of the KNX protocol. Use either TCP or UDP to configure individual solutions.

 

SIMPLE AND EFFICIENT.

ASCII is one of the best known and most common encodings. It is used by the KNXCONVERTER protocol to simplify the control of KNX systems. Instead of having to implement the complete KNX protocol, ETS4 and ETS5 project export on the application side simply work with the corresponding identifiers. The integrated address status table enables third party applications to get an immediate overview of the status of the KNX system at startup.

 

UNLIMITED DATA POINTS.

Use the KNXCONVERTER in simple installations or in large projects. Due to the unlimited number of data points, this module, which is only four division units in size, meets almost all requirements. Thanks to the integrated KNXnet/IP server, the KNXCONVERTER can be placed not only directly on the KNX line (KNX/TP interface) but also on the TCP/IP-based main or area line.

 

ADDED VALUES FOR YOUR CUSTOMERS.

With the help of the KNXCONVERTER, which can also be used as an IP router and programming interface for the ETS, the advantages of different systems can be easily combined. In this way, you create new added value for your customers while simultaneously optimizing costs.

EXAMPLE: KNXCONVERTER – KNX/TP

EXAMPLE: KNXCONVERTER – KNXNET/IP

The KNXCONVERTER is connected to the twisted pair bus as an additional KNX device. After implementation of the KNXCONVERTER protocol, the third party application communicates bidirectionally with the KNXCONVERTER via the network (TCP or UDP). This gives the external application full access to the KNX system and vice versa.

In larger installations, the KNXCONVERTER replaces an IP router with the integrated KNXnet/IP server. With the help of the KNXCONVERTER protocol, third-party applications are connected bidirectionally to the complete installation. In this way, the advantages of both worlds are ideally combined with minimal additional effort.

Art. No.

  • 10401 – KNXCONVERTER

 

Technical data

  • Operating voltage: 12–32 V DC
  • Typical power consumption 300 mA at 12 V DC
  • Power consumption: <= 5 W
  • Connection: screw-type plug-in terminal
  • Climate resistant: EN 50090-2-2
  • Ambient temperature: –5 to + 35 °C
  • Relative humidity (non-condensing): 5 % to 80 %.  

 

Mechanical data

  • Mounting: MDRC 4 MW
  • Dimensions (W x H x D) in mm: 72 x 90 x 63
  • Housing: Plastic
  • Protection class: IP20 (according to EN 60529)  

Interfaces

  • KNX via screw terminal (Twisted Pair)
  • Ethernet via RJ45 socket

 

Special features

  • address status table
  • ETS4/5 project data import
  • Communication via TCP, UDP, and HTTP

KNXCONVERTER

PARLEZ VOUS ASCII?

 Highlights im KNXCONVERTER: Bidirektionale ASCII-Konvertierung  –  KNX Projektimport  –  Datenversand per TCP, UDP & http  –  Objektzustandstabelle

Der KNXCONVERTER ermöglicht die Anbindung KNX-fremder Systeme so einfach und schnell wie noch nie – ohne detaillierte Kenntnisse des KNX-Protokolls.

PARLEZ-VOUS ASCII?

Der KNXCONVERTER wandelt KNX-Telegramme in ASCII-Code und umgekehrt. Mit seiner Hilfe binden Sie Drittanwendungen denkbar einfach ein. Das Gerät sendet die Daten sowohl per TCP, UDP (unicast oder multicast), als auch HTTP. Dank der einfachen Struktur des KNXCONVERTER-Protokolls (ASCII-Kommandos), gestaltet sich die Einbindung so simpel wie nur möglich. Für die Verbindung zu KNX sorgen eine KNX/TP-Anschluss und der integrierte KNXnet/IP-Server. Die Anzahl der Datenpunkte ist unbegrenzt. Die Werte aller Gruppenadressen sind in einer Adresszustandstabelle hinterlegt, die durch Drittanwendungen ausgelesen werden kann. Verschiedene KNX-Welten mit gleichen Gruppenadressen können durch eine System-ID unterschieden werden. Der Upload der ETS4- und ETS5-Projektdaten vereinfacht, dank Nutzung der Bezeichner und Datentypen, die Erstellung der ASCII-Kommandos. Zusätzlich kann der KNXCONVERTER auch als Programmierschnittstelle für die ETS genutzt werden. Dieses Gerät konfigurieren Sie plattformunabhängig über eine Webschnittstelle.

KNX BUS – BI-DIREKTIONALE ÜBERSETZUNG.

Der KNXCONVERTER »übersetzt« KNX-Telegramme in ein einfaches ASCII-Protokoll und umgekehrt. So binden Sie KNX-fremde Systeme ohne detaillierte Kenntnisse des KNX-Protokolls besonders einfach ein. Verwenden Sie wahlweise TCP oder UDP um individuelle Lösungen zu konfigurieren.

SIMPEL UND EFFIZIENT.

ASCII ist einer der bekanntesten und verbreitetsten Zeichenkodierungen. Sie wird vom KNXCONVERTER-Protokoll verwendet, um die Steuerung von KNX-Anlagen zu vereinfachen. Statt das vollständige KNX-Protokoll implementieren zu müssen, wird auf Anwendungsseite durch Nutzung des ETS4 und ETS5-Projektexport einfach mit den entsprechenden Bezeichnern gearbeitet. Die integrierte Adresszustandstabelle ermöglicht Drittanwendungungen beim Start den sofortigen Überblick über den Zustand der KNX-Anlage zu erhalten.

UNBEGRENZT DATENPUNKTE.

Verwenden Sie den KNXCONVERTER in einfachen Installationen, oder in Großprojekten. Durch die unbegrenzte Anzahl an Datenpunkten genügt dieses nur vier Teilungseinheiten große Modul nahezu allen Anforderungen. Durch den integrierten KNXnet/IP-Server kann er nicht nur direkt auf der KNX-Linie (KNX/TP-Schnittstelle) sondern auch auf der TCP/IP-basierten Haupt- oder Bereichslinie platziert werden.

MEHRTWERTE FÜR IHRE KUNDEN.

Mit Hilfe des auch als IP-Router und Programmierschnittstelle für die ETS einsetzbaren Funktionen werden die Vorzüge verschiedener Systeme unkompliziert miteinander verknüpft. So schaffen Sie neue Mehrwerte für Ihre Kunden bei gleichzeitiger Kostenoptimierung.

Menü